Mica Update for July 10, 2014

June 2014 019 Since there’s little world news worth discussing, I’ll do a six month update.

My baby is a baby no more.  He looks a lot like Morgan in this first photo, and he’s almost as big as Morgan was as an adult and he’s only 27 weeks. Everyone we meet says the same thing: “He’s gonna be big.”

We found four of those little needle-teeth lying around and Mica now has a mouth full of beautiful big-boy choppers that aren’t nearly so deadly. I still have scars on my legs from his mouthing of toys as he pushes them up against me while I’m walking. We’re trying hard to break that habit now. Well, at least I am.

June 2014 004Below he poses with the puppy crate I brought him home in; from 12 to 62 pounds in 4 months—and still growing. I don’t know when he’s going to grow into those enormous feet.

July 2014 005Today he went to the vet a male, and shall return a eunuch. Bye, bye boys!

Hopefully that will calm him down a little, but mostly, I hope he stops humping.  I must say, though, that when we hit that six month mark, he seemed to get a little more obedient and better behaved suddenly.

Prior to that he was spending a lot of time in the penalty box and was so stubborn I was beginning to wonder if he would ever submit.

Exercize is so important. And he still brings in the newspapers to earn his keep.

July 2014 003Now that the monsoons are here it’s been very cloudy and cooler so we’ve been going for long walks in the washes at 6:00 am and to my astonishment and joy, Mica is really good off-leash.

We take along training treats and he doesn’t wander off and comes when called, refrains from munching on road apples and trots around at his chosen speed while I have a leisurely stroll in the sand.

This morning a coyote crossed our path in the wash and for a moment Mica looked as though he was considering running after him, but I told him No, Sit, and he did.

We’ve also been going to the nearest dog park—almost 25 minutes away—for the past two months and he’s learning to play and socialize. There have been a few unpleasant encounters, however.

A few weeks ago a pony resembling an Irish wolf hound went after Mica’s neck and was biting his ear and wouldn’t let him up. Mica is very submissive and if another dog intimidates him he lies down or even rolls over, belly to the breeze. Uncle!

Mica closeup2 run dog parkI finally had to grab that monster’s collar to pull him off and he growled at me. Wished I’d had a saddle.

Another day a small, senior mutt was short on patience and when Mica went to say hello they gave a warning growl. When Mica didn’t get the message and went back, they bit him on the nose and he ran away yelping in fear. I don’t think it hurt very much, just scared him, or maybe his nose was still sensitive from the snake bite, I don’t know.

The first visit to the park was the best. Mica was running in a friendly pack across the field and one of them gave him an unintentional hip check and down he went. He was so shocked he just laid there, playing dead, while all the other dogs had continued on. Wished I’d had a camera.

Mica is a real water baby now, as you can imagine, having such an early start. He’s a super-fast swimmer and tries hard to catch Dad. His best performance is while chasing the skimmer net across the pool. Everything is a toy or a game when you’re a puppy.

July 2014 048He’s really smart and stands on his hind legs to get his pool toys out of the skimmer, and Dad is teaching him to fetch toys under water.

Will Mica be a deep-water diver like Morgan? We’ll see. He certainly loves towel time as much as Morgan did.

Mica towel in mouth

Mica has um…’interesting’ ways of communicating. For instance, when swimming and fetching toys in the evening, he often starts biting me and growling. That usually means he is tired and wants to go to his room for awhile and chill.

We had to get out the wire crate for him this week as the plastic airline crate was too hot and too short so now he has a big-boy room to go to with a comfy mattress in it.

July 2014 024 The other morning we took Mica kayaking for the first time. While he’s an angel driving in the truck, he was really antsy and couldn’t sit still, even though I’d taken him for a walk very early. I have to keep reminding myself that although he’s a BIG dog, he is only a young pup and always learning.

The sun was climbing and lighting the cliffs and after a brief paddle we went back to the beach, not wanting to push it the first time. Mica enjoyed a swim with Dad and then hopped along the shore in the shallow water for the sheer fun of it.

We had our introductory storm of the season a week or so ago and Mica responded to the high wind and sighing trees—and when the skies opened—the sight, sound and smell of rain. It was his first ever and he went outside for the full experience. Next day he encountered his first puddles.

We’re getting to be smarter dog owners and since this puppy’s favourite treat is a bully ring and they’re expensive at the feed store, we ordered a box on the Internet wholesale. Grass-fed and all natural. I also found what I believe to be some decent quality dog food I can buy in larger bags than I can at the chains for a MUCH better price AND have it delivered free from Goober Pet Direct, so Mica is set for awhile.

July 2014 012We’ve had no more rattlesnakes but we have a beautiful green, red-headed lizard we see on the patio a lot who is becoming quite tame.

Now you’re up to date, and I’m looking forward to camping in the fall, but ready to enjoy summer and the glorious monsoons, first. Can you see the double rainbow?

Life is definitely more interesting when you have a little soul to coach and coddle. As a neighbour pointed out last week, the only problem with dogs is that they don’t live to be thirty. But that is about to change.  ~ BP

 

 

About Starship Earth: The Big Picture

I'm a Canadian freelance writer living near Phoenix, Arizona specializing in the 2012 phenomenon, spirituality, and wellness & nutrition. Over the past 8 years I've learned what our spiritual upgrade is REALLY all about and have access to insider information not shared in the mainstream media. I aim to dispel the myths and disinformation around The Shift and Ascension and help bring the world Truth. It is time. Welcome... and I hope this blog makes a difference in your spiritual liberation. ~ Molly A. Chapman

15 thoughts on “Mica Update for July 10, 2014

  1. Traci Chaney says:

    What a beautiful story!

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Karrie says:

    Thank you so much for posting this…I have been hanging out to hear how Mica is doing and look at him he has grown so much and yes he is going to be huge ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. Teri says:

    He is just beautiful. Loved the update.

  4. Bridget says:

    good to see Mica is in such good health and spirits!

  5. Oh so beautiful is he. 🙂 What I wouldn’t do to own a wonderful dog like Mica. I was actually enchanted while reading and looking at those photos. ❤

  6. Chris says:

    Thanks so much for sharing. Both of you are very fortunate. Greetings from Geneva. Chris

  7. Dee says:

    Oh, thank you for the update on Mica BP…he is such a cutie pie! I’m so glad that he is completely recovered and enjoying life along with you and your husband. He is a blessing to you as you are to him!

  8. James says:

    OMG! Your photos and text are so cute and wonderful!! Thanks for sharing!

  9. Charlie z says:

    Bless you all your dedication to humanity it to die for
    Mica is Morgan in a new suit
    Thank you and love him to piece

  10. Gaye Estey says:

    Thank you.  What a treat to have an update on Mica.  Gaye Estey

  11. Anonymous says:

    As a dog owner since I was a little girl to now owning two dogs, I thank you for the update. Only those of us who have owned dogs can know what amazing, beautiful loving souls our companions are. My dogs have been by my side through such loss and struggle and have kept my heart from breaking and giving up many times. I believe they are
    our angels in the flesh here on earth so they can literally touch us and heal us everyday and remind us how much we are loved.

  12. David Pirie says:

    …a beautiful dog! i have query – did u kno that raw food (chicken, lamb, any pasture animal or game is the sole truly healthy pet food.
    When my son’s greyhound leaves a sample, it dries to a white ash & blows away! Go natural for goodness!

    • David Pirie, yes I know all about natural, raw food. I just lost a Golden to cancer and I was cooking his meals and giving him the best nutrition I could. Unfortunately on one income, I don’t have the luxury of a raw, all natural diet for Mica. As a puppy, his body isn’t loaded with toxins that stress his immunie system so he’ll be fine for now. It doesn’t matter anyway, as we will soon have our new perfected bodies, no aging, no disease.

  13. Dan W says:

    Thanks for the wonderful update, Mica is a beautiful soul you’ve been blessed with. Its nice to take a break from the dysfunctional world and be able to feel like we’re a part of your world. You are sooooo loved by sooooo many!

Comments are closed.